Dan Spencer announces new album, shares “Eternal Platitude”

dan spencer standing in front of old spooky building

Dan Spencer announced Return To Your Dark Master, his second full length album, which will drop May 31 via Feeling Grey Records.

In his announcement, Spencer wrote, “Got way too into Dracula last summer and kept writing songs about being in caves and hating the sun. Couldn’t be more proud of this and so ready to share it with ya. Be on the look out for physical copies soon. Love you guys”

The latest single, “Eternal Platitude,” is an awesome slow-tempo, country-rock tune with great guitar work peppered throughout. Spencer’s booming voice is as powerful and resonant as it was on earlier tracks like Beat Your Ass to Death and Tonic & Ice.

Dan Spencer “Eternal Platitude” (Official Audio)

Dan Spencer’s 2022 album, Bursting With Country-Fresh Flavor, is a remarkably well-polished debut record from the alternative country singer-songwriter.

His well-deserved upward trajectory keeps going, with shows announced for San Francisco’s Outside Lands Festival and the Outeroo Who Stage at Bonnaroo. He’s also set to open for Giovanni & The Hired Guns during their upcoming tour next month.

Spencer’s official album release show is happening at Wherehouse Skateshop in Cookeville, TN, on Saturday, June 8th, at 8:00 pm.

Chattanooga’s own Gumm will be joining him, along with Kentucky-based bands Shitfire and Brat Tamer.

Return To Your Dark Master was produced by Zach Ramsey, mastered by Mikey Allred, and engineered and mixed by Tate Mercer at Forty-One Fifteen in Nashville.

dan spencer album cover

Return To Your Dark Master

1 Cult Leader

2 Fat Vampire

3 Eternal Platitude

4 Immaterial

5 Lazy Vampire

6 Pink Sword Lillies

7 Weepin Weekend

8 Return to Your Dark Master

The first single from Return To Your Dark Master was “Fat Vampire,” released in March along with an absurd and incredible music video.

Dan Spencer “Fat Vampire” (Official Music Video)